View Single Post
Old 05-01-2003, 05:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Cynthetiq
Tilted Cat Head

Administrator
Grammar: Were you taught standard grammar?

For those of you who learned english written and spoken, I was wondering if you were ever taught standard english rules. I graduated from private high school in 1986, and during my HS career there was a push to make sure that we were all literate in grammar and good composition. It started simply enough as a freshman with good sentence structure, sophomore with paragraph composition, junior with short essay (three paragraph or more,) and finally as a senior writing full papers.

The other weekend the wife and I took the Foreign Service Written Exam for the State Department. It was a very difficult test with several parts. Two parts focused on english, one standardized test on multiple choice problems of picking out the correct answers of composition and sentence structure. The second part was an actual essay IN PEN, selected from three different topics. Objective, take a position on one of the topics and provide supporting arguments. There was a scrap page for you to make notes and outlines, then several pages for your composition. Each test was 50 minutes long, and someone asked if they could actually write in pencil, and was told the purpose for pen is the "finality of the written word," to see how you write and think.

The article below is from March 1, 2003 Newsday, there is a quiz at the bottom. I got a few of them wrong and if there are any teachers here who can deconstruct the answers and explain them it would be handy for some of us.

http://www.newsday.com/features/ny-p...mepage%2Dpromo

Whatever Happened to Grammar?
Out of favor for years because the educational establishment deemed it too ‘restrictive,’ grammar education is making a comeback
By Paul Moses
Paul Moses is a regular contributor to Newsday.

May 1, 2003