View Single Post
Old 10-14-2005, 08:28 AM   #25 (permalink)
Spanxxx
Psycho

I find it funny the amount of fear I feel now as a parent of the world around me. Partly, my wife is a newsaholic paranoid freak who thinks some guy wearing a clown suit and driving a white van is going to drive up in our yard and take our kid to sell him on Ebay or something. Outside of that though, I still am considerbaly more fearful for children in general now than it seems my parents were when I was young.

I grew up in a fairly small town (20k or so pop.) and I can remember as young as 4 or 5 being outside riding the big wheel around the corner and over on the next block. Then, we moved to a new neighborhood when I was 7, and it didn't have sidewalks. I started riding my bike in the streets and started riding farther away. By middle school, I was walking a mile or more through rough neighborhoods after school to get to where my mom worked (an elementary school), or I would take the bus, and walk 1/2 to 1 mile to my house from the closest drop point.

I can remember staying home alone on a few occasions, but probably not until I was 13-15 or so because I had two younger sisters (one 3 years younger and one 9 years younger). I would normally be in charge of them for short periods. Often, my mom would go out and take my youngest sister and leave me and my other sister home alone.

I guess it all just depends on the children, the area, the trust you have with your children.

I know that my wife and I have already started having those debates about what age will we let our son(s) go out and play in the yard without us watching them. I suspect probably not until school age at least (5-6). However, even that to me seems like much less freedom than I had at that age.