View Single Post
Old 08-12-2003, 08:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tex
Crazy
 
Location: Orange County, CA
Re: You're The Umpire III

Quote:
Originally posted by gov135
1. There are no outs, baserunner on third. You are the umpire. Barry Zito is the A's pitcher, and Ichiro Suzuki is the Mariner's baserunner. Zito is standing on the rubber, and has not yet started his windup when Suzuki breaks prematurely towards home plate. Zito breaks directly towards Suzuki and tags him before he reaches home. Your call?
If Zito steps off with his left foot, then he is allowed to go and tag out the runner, if he steps off with his right foot, it would be a balk and the runner would score.

2. There is one out, bases empty. You are the umpire. The batter, the speedy Coco Crisp, hits a sure double-possible triple to left field. The left fielder, Carlos Beltran, gets to the ball as
Crisp rounds second and heads for third. Beltran's throw towards third base is "right on the money" as Crisp slides in.... and the ball hits Crisp and bounces down the left field line, allowing a grateful Crisp to score. Beltran made a great throw, does he receive an error on the play?
[/QUOTE]

Yes. Any play that allows a runner to take an extra base is considered an error.

3. There are no outs, bases empty. Rocco Baldelli of the Devil Rays is at the plate. He hits a slow grounder towards third, and races towards first base. The third baseman charges the ball, and fires a strike to first on a close play. The firstbase umpire calls Baldelli out. But Baldelli and Lou Pinella, manager, protest that the play was so close, the tie goes to the runner. Who is correct, the Devil Rays or the umpire?[/QUOTE]

Umpire.


4. There is one out, with a runner on third. The batter hits a grounder down the third base line, in fair territory. The baserunner retreats to third base, in front of the third baseman, where he is hit by the ball. Your call?[/QUOTE]

If he is hit while in fair territory, he is out.


5. There are two outs, bases are loaded. You are the umpire. The batter swats a triple, and all baserunners score. However, the runner on third failed to touch home plate. After the runners from first and second score, the runner from third retouches the plate. The catcher then calls for the ball and an appeal. What's your call?[/QUOTE]

All three runners are out because it would be as if the 2nd and 3rd runner scored before the 1st one. You are not allowed to pass the baserunner in front of you. If you do, you're both out. (See Robin Ventura's grand slam single against the Braves in the NLCS)
Tex is offline  
 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360