View Single Post
Old 08-12-2003, 06:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
gov135
Junkie
 
gov135's Avatar
 
Location: Midwest
You're The Umpire III

... make the correct call. I'll post the answers in a few days.

NOTE: These are difficult situations that are not seen very often in baseball. So pick to have fun - noone is being graded, honest.

Wow. I was impressed with the answers.

1. There are no outs, baserunner on third. You are the umpire. Barry Zito is the A's pitcher, and Ichiro Suzuki is the Mariner's baserunner. Zito is standing on the rubber, and has not yet started his windup when Suzuki breaks prematurely towards home plate. Zito breaks directly towards Suzuki and tags him before he reaches home. Your call?
When a pitcher leaves the mound without backing off the rubber, it is a balk. Suzuki gets the base, and scores.

2. There is one out, bases empty. You are the umpire. The batter, the speedy Coco Crisp, hits a sure double-possible triple to left field. The left fielder, Carlos Beltran, gets to the ball as Crisp rounds second and heads for third. Beltran's throw towards third base is "right on the money" as Crisp slides in.... and the ball hits Crisp and bounces down the left field line, allowing a grateful Crisp to score. Beltran made a great throw, does he receive an error on the play?
Yes. Beltran is assessed with a hard-luck error, because if not, the pitcher would be charged with an earned run, which would be inaccurate.

3. There are no outs, bases empty. Rocco Baldelli of the Devil Rays is at the plate. He hits a slow grounder towards third, and races towards first base. The third baseman charges the ball, and fires a strike to first on a close play. The firstbase umpire calls Baldelli out. But Baldelli and Lou Pinella, manager, protest that the play was so close, the tie goes to the runner. Who is correct, the Devil Rays or the umpire?
The umpire is correct. In the MLB rulebook, there is no "tie goes to the runner rule." The runner either beats the throw or he doesn't.

4. There is one out, with a runner on third. The batter hits a grounder down the third base line, in fair territory. The baserunner retreats to third base, in front of the third baseman, where he is hit by the ball. Your call?
The base does not protect the runner when he is hit by a batted ball in front of the infielder. He is out.

5. There are two outs, bases are loaded. You are the umpire. The batter swats a triple, and all baserunners score. However, the runner on third failed to touch home plate. After the runners from first and second score, the runner from third retouches the plate. The catcher then calls for the ball and an appeal. What's your call?
The runner cannot return to touch a base after succeeding runners have touched it. In this case, he represents the third out, so no runs score.

BONUS: Two questions. Can a player who is on the disabled list sit on his team's bench during an official game, and if so, can he be removed from the bench during the game?
Yes and Yes. However, the opposing manager must grant permission for the DL'd player to be on the bench, and, in order for that player to be removed, the same manager must request it.

This bizarre combination of compliances occured some years ago in the National League. Frank Lucchesi, manager of the Phillies at the time, made the request of Gene Mauch, manager of the Expos. Lucchesi wanted Dick Selma, an injured Phillies pitcher, to stay on his bench. Mauch gave his consent.

But Selma didn't like Mauch, so he loudly criticized Gene's every move during the game, so that Mauch could hear. In the sixth inning, Mauch had enough. He came out of his dugout and said to the umpire, "Selma has to go. I can't take him anymore."

Exit Selma. Rule 3.06


14, 15, 41, 59, 82, 36

Last edited by gov135; 08-15-2003 at 03:33 PM..
gov135 is offline  
 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360