View Single Post
Old 07-03-2003, 03:43 PM   #53 (permalink)
NoSoup
Non-Rookie

Quote:
Originally posted by daoist
It seems that I'm an expert at financial calamities:

I've got a couple of credit cards maxed out, i run on a low - to - negative bank account balance, and i've got tons of other bills piling up.

Every couple of weeks whenever I think i can pay some of my debt down (most of my debt is in collections now) something new happens.

I've gone to the hospital from heart-attack symptoms (i'm a 23 year old college student...no insurance), i've had creditors try direct debits from my checking accounts at exactly the wrong times (case in point: my checking account is $-380 right now due to a direct debit). My car broke down and I had to pay about $500 to fix it, then the next day I got pulled over 200 miles from home and had my car impounded. due to my inability to get a ride to go pick it up it sat there for about a month racking up "storage fees", after it's all said and done i'll be out $800 or so on that little adventure. Oh, and since I didn't have a car for a month I lost one of my jobs...the higher paying one

anyhow, i'd estimate I've got about $10k of debt going on right now (not even counting my student loans)

what the hell should I do? I've seriously considered faking my own death. Seriously.
Ouch... I guess it is true when they say it rains, it pours.

Well, you do have several options. You didn't say how much you make, but I know that it is a terrible, terrible place to be in.

Your first option would probably to call the collection companies and see how low they will settle. Because they buy the debt at a discounted price, they are generally willing to settle for a good deal less than what you actually owe them.