View Single Post
Old 01-18-2009, 11:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Baraka_Guru
warrior bodhisattva

Super Moderator
My quarter-life crisis has come a bit late

This has sprung out of a recent blog post of mine: [Baraka_Blog] It's my turn, my friends. I'm seriously evaluating my career, and I want some feedback.

For those of you who don't know, I'm a book editor. I work for a small trade book publisher as a managing editor, but I also do a lot of marketing. In addition to editing and running the editorial for the company, I also do such things as promotion and office admin. More specifically, I liaise with authors, book stores, distributors, and other industry people; I build websites and do SEO; I help authors figure out blogging; I do all kinds of research related to new technologies and how the book industry can take advantage of it; and more.

I've also started to do some freelance work, most of which includes editing unpublished authors who are self-publishing or wish to approach publishers with something that isn't a steaming pile of shit.

The bottom line is this: I'm not very satisfied with what I'm doing at the moment. Some of it is pay-based (I'm not paid very much for what I do), but it's also based on the work. You see, I'm not sure I even like being an editor. I'm always self-conscious of my work and I have a difficult time keeping motivated. I try to find other things to do and always put off the editorial aspect of things if I can. I actually have had a better time teaching myself how to build websites. I have more fun working with code and numbers, whether it is Internet stuff or finance things, and this is what I'm getting at.

I'm looking into whether I should change careers. Although I have a degree in English, which would explain my editor status, I first earned a diploma in Business Administration--Marketing. In hindsight, I loved reading for my English degree, but pulled my hair out writing for it.