View Single Post
Old 02-02-2007, 09:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
shesus
Fancy

I've been teaching for 7 years now. Just in that short amount of time I have seen many problems with the education system. I started teaching in a rural school where we had no set curriculum. It was basically, teach what you want. Then I went to a mid-sized city and taught. That district was so focused on testing, it took the joy out of teaching and learning. Those poor kids were tested almost once a month for the district, state, and country. It was so bad that one fourth grade student wrote on his test, "These are wasting my time. Why can't my teacher use this time to teach me?"

Now, I teach in Chicago. It is such a large district no one knows what is going on really. We have to prep for the tests and that is the main goal. That is how the school gets money and it also decides if the teachers and/or administration keep their job. The problem with that is that the kids are the main factors and it is not guaranteed that the children want to learn.