View Single Post
Old 12-26-2005, 03:32 PM   #313 (permalink)
NoSoup
Non-Rookie

Quote:
Originally Posted by wouql
Hey NoSoup...this is a great thread you've got in here.

Here's my situation: I'm 21 years old and I'm going to graduate from college in May. I'll be starting a nice job when I graduate (~$60k), and I'm single, so I should have plenty. I've worked there since last summer and I'll stay on part-time until I graduate (in about 6 months) when I'll become salaried. My credit score is in the mid 700s, but everything on it is extremely new; a credit card that's been active for ~6months (always paid in full every month), and roughly $10k of deferred student loans.

What I'm wondering is: I've gone my entire life without a car, and frankly, I'm sick of it. The nanosecond I can afford it I'm buying a car. My question is: Is there any chance I'd be able to secure an auto loan now, instead of in 6 months? My salary until May is only about $900/month since I'm a student and working very few hours (this has also been my income for the last 6 months). Does an offer letter from a company make any difference when applying for a loan? (I'm sort of assuming it doesn't, since it could theoretically be withdrawn at any time.)

Do you have any advice for me? I'm desperate to find a way buy a car now, and not in 6 months. In addition, I don't really want to buy a used or ultra-cheap one, since I'd be able to afford a much nicer one when I graduate.

EDIT: Two things I forgot to ask..... do they count student loans/financial aid packages as income? I remember my landlord did just that when I got my apartment (I hadn't even known you could do that; seemed kind of strange to me) but maybe I can benefit from it again? It's all in one big lump sum though, so I don't know how you'd count it "per month."

Lastly, do you have any opinion on financing online vs. through an actual bank/credit union? I belong to Bank of America, but online seems a lot easier.

Thanks again.