View Single Post
Old 02-14-2005, 10:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
mrsandman
Addict

I was a five-year veteran firefighter on a major city fire department with plenty of experience with inner city fires. This particular incident was just a routine mattress fire. It was simply an old smoldering mattress in an abandoned apartment building. Most likely, some junkies had started the fire.

Our engine company was dispatched to the scene and me and another firefighter quickly determined to just carry the mattress out the back door instead of dragging a line in and hosing it down in the apartment. I picked up the front end of the mattress and my partner picked up the rear as we headed towards the back porch to dump it in the back yard.

This particular back porch was wooden and was about 4 feet by four feet. To get downstairs, you turned right and headed down the wide wooden stairs. The porch and stairs were outside of the building, and below those wooden stairs, was a set of cement stairs that led to the basement. From the top of the wooden porch to the bottom of the cement stairs was about 30 feet.

Carrying the front of the mattress, I intended to just turn right and walk down the stairs and dump the mattress in the back yard. We didn’t have any protective gear on as there appeared to be no need for it.