![]() |
![]() |
#1 (permalink) |
Junkie
Location: Midwest
|
You're the umpire II...
... make the appropriate call for each situation.
NOTE: These are not typical baseball scenarios, so don't feel bad if you don't know. Just give your best guess. Answers will be posted here after a few days. 1.) You, a player, are upset at a few close calls that have gone against you earlier in the game. Up at the plate in the seventh inning, you hit a home run. Rounding first on your home run trot, you let the first base umpire know what you think about his mother. You are promptly ejected. Are you out of the game at that moment or can you legally complete your home run trip before hitting the showers? You are allowed to complete the play - home run stands - before you must exit the field. 2.) You are the umpire. Juan Gonzalez of the Texas Rangers is on third. Carl Everett is at the plate, with a full count. There are two outs. On the 3-2 pitch, Everett is hit. The ball gets away to the backstop, and Gonzalez comes home to score. Meanwhile, Everett chugs into second. What, if anything, is your ruling? The ball is dead once it hits Everett. Therefore, Gonzalez is returned to third, and Everett to second. 3.) You are the umpire. The bases are loaded with no outs. The batter send a fly ball into left field that should have been caught, but falls in the gap. The runner who started the play on first, hesitates, and is passed on the basepath by the batter between first and second. Who is called out? What position player for the fielding squad gets credit for the putout? The hitter is called out for passing the baserunner on the basepath. The putout is awarded to the nearest fielder, even if he had nothing to do with the play. Therefore, if the first baseman is closest to the runners when they cross paths, he gets credit. 4.) You are the pitcher. Off to a bad start in the third inning, you walk the first two batters. With no outs, Derek Jeter hits a fly ball to the third base side, in foul territory. Your normally sure-thing third baseman, Scott Rolen, misjudges the ball and it falls harmlessly in foul territory without him touching it. Given a repreive, Jeter hits a two-run double on the next pitch. Do the runs count against your (the pitchers) earned run average? Yes, the runs count against your ERA. Rolen misjudged and did not touch the ball in foul territory, so no error is awarded. 5.) You are the batter. The bases are loaded, with noone out. You hit into a double-play, scoring the run from third. Do you get credit for the run batted in? No - Rule 10.04 Do not credit a run batted in when the batter hits into a force double play or a reverse double play. 6.) You are on second base, with your teammate, Ichiro Suzuki on first. There is no outs. Your third base coach signals for a double-steal (you will steal third as Suzuki steals second). When the pitcher wind up, you both break. Catcher Mike Piazza catches the pitch, stands up from his crouch, and successfully throws out Suzuki trying to steal second. Do you get credit for a steal? No. When a double or triple steal is attempted and one runner is thrown out before reaching base, no steal is credited. 89-45-29-33-34-34 Last edited by gov135; 06-26-2003 at 06:50 AM.. |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 (permalink) |
Crazy
|
1) Must round all the bases to get credit for the run. Umpire can throw you out after you tag home.
2)Once Everett is hit, play is dead. Gonzalez cannot advance (nor can Everett go to second). 3)If the guy who hit the ball tags second before the guy on first, the guy on first is out. The leftfielder gets credit?? 4)Yes, the runs count against you due to you allowing them on first base via walks (or a hit if that was the case). If Jeter ends up scoring, that run does not count against you. 5)Yes 6)Yes |
![]() |
![]() |
#3 (permalink) |
Upright
Location: Columbia, MD
|
1) If the umpire throws you out after only touching first you are out of te game and the run does not count.
2) Once the batter is hit with the ball the play is dead and no one can advance and the batter gets first. 3) depends on who is taged out first but normally it is the one that has passed the player in front so in this case it would be the batter and the left fielder would get credit. 4) The runs would count against you and if Jeter would end up scoring that run would count against you as well. 5) Yes 6) Yes
__________________
If you don't work at it you won't get it. PMac |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 (permalink) |
Insane
Location: Bayou Country
|
1) Ejection takes place after homerun trot, ie after crossing home plate.
2) Once ball hits player, it is dead..no advancing of any runner that is not forced, no advancing of more than one base for hit batsman 3) I think batter is called out for passing up the other runner, not sure who gets credit. 4) Because it was a foul ball, no error can be issued...therefore all runs are earned including Jeter if he should score. 5) Yes 6) No cuz no attempt was made to try and get you out. |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 (permalink) |
Insane
Location: Steel City ( the 'Burgh)
|
1. you complete the home run
2. i agree with everyone else 3. a) guy who started on first is out. b) No one? 4. Yes 5. Yes 6. Yes
__________________
Let's go Pitt, we're set for victory Sex is like bridge: If you don't have a good partner, you better have a good hand. -- Charles Pierce |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 (permalink) |
pinche vato
Location: backwater, Third World, land of cotton
|
I have an "Ask the Ref" question about college football.
*Team A lines up to kick a PAT. *Team B blocks the PAT. *A big fat lineman for Team B catches the blocked kick in the air and begins chugging downfield with it toward the end zone. *As he nears his end zone, a speedy player from Team A catches him from behind and strips the ball before he crosses the goal line. *The speedy player from Team A catches the stripped ball in the air and turns around and heads back toward the original goal line. *Speedy player from Team A miraculously weaves through everyone and crosses the goal line with the ball in his hands. Do the refs award one point, two points, or six points? P.S - I saw this almost happen in a game between Auburn and LSU about 7-8 years ago. The Speedy Team A player didn't make it across the goal line, but none of us could figure out what would have happened if he had. You can always count on something mega-goofy happening during an Auburn-LSU football game. There's either going to be an earthquake, a building on fire, an illegal whistle, a fistfight between the band and the kicker, four 4th quarter INTs for TDs by the same team, or this play.
__________________
Living is easy with eyes closed. Last edited by warrrreagl; 06-26-2003 at 07:55 AM.. |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 (permalink) |
Junkie
Location: Midwest
|
My best guess would be two points. One seems to be out, cause the only way I know of to score one point in football is the PAT. Six makes some sense, cause possession changed hands to the big fat lineman. But I guess two, cause I don't think the rulebook would allow for 13 points in one trip.
But its a guess. |
![]() |
![]() |
#11 (permalink) |
Deliberately unfocused
Location: Amazon.com and CDBaby
|
The answer is 1 point.
Same for the lineman, if he returns it all the way. Once the ball is kicked, only 1 point can be scored on the play.
__________________
"Regret can be a harder pill to swallow than failure .With failure you at least know you gave it a chance..." David Howard |
![]() |
![]() |
#12 (permalink) |
Tilted
Location: Pennsylvania
|
Question...I think one of the answers to the original question is typed wrong. In question 2 is says the ball is dead and Everett should return to second, but he should only be at first. He only gets first when struck by the pitch and the ball is dead so he can't get second, or am I wrong???
__________________
"keep your friends close and your enemies closer." |
![]() |
![]() |
#13 (permalink) | |
Junkie
Location: Midwest
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#14 (permalink) |
pinche vato
Location: backwater, Third World, land of cotton
|
I love this thread too much to let it die. So here's a new question for you all to BE THE UMPIRE (or ref, in this case).
A hockey question: A player has one skate on the blue line and one skate in his Attacking Zone at the instant the puck completely crosses the blue line into his Attacking Zone. Is he off-side?
__________________
Living is easy with eyes closed. |
![]() |
Tags |
umpire |
|
|