View Single Post
Old 10-19-2004, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
wilbjammin

The Role of Education

So, this has been troubling me for a while, so I thought I'd bring it to the boards. My hope is that this becomes an open discussion, and I'll be glad if this goes far from the thread's original guiding comments.

I'm a first year teacher struggling to figure out exactly what my philosophical role as a teacher should be. In simple terms, I know that it should be somewhere along the lines of preparing kids to be adults in the world we live in. Though what that really means, I don't know.

I find myself stuck between my beliefs that there are many things wrong with our society that should be challenged, and yet having strong convictions that there are great things about our society that we should value and embrace. I don't like our rampant consumerism, lack of long-term thinking, building our social structures around divisions in wealth/class, lack of connection with the environment, the tendencies of so many kids to spend so much time to emulate characters in movies and television, among other things. On the other hand, I have a deep respect for the tradition of our country to use our government to solve problems, the belief that people can pursue life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness, and there are so many examples of people going out on a limb to try to make a difference in their communities, state, nation, and the world.

I'm a conflicted person, being an American that is critical of our society and sees a lot of problems, and yet loves our society. And it gets me into trouble, particularly when kids ask those random questions along the lines of "what do you think about ____ ?" It gets worse because I'm a social studies teacher, and I have some very strong opinions on politics. I don't know what to say, and I usually come off sounding like a politician that doesn't want to say anything wrong that could get me into trouble.