1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We've had very few donations over the year. I'm going to be short soon as some personal things are keeping me from putting up the money. If you have something small to contribute it's greatly appreciated. Please put your screen name as well so that I can give you credit. Click here: Donations
    Dismiss Notice

Saying Sorry

Discussion in 'Tilted Life and Sexuality' started by snowy, Apr 2, 2013.

1. snowy

snowy so kawaii Staff Member

I spotted this in the news yesterday, and it got me turning over the act of apologizing in my head.

Personally, I think part of this stems from a tendency in our society to apologize about the dumbest shit. I'm not joking. As a preschool teacher, I saw this all the time with my little ones. Their parents had taught them to say "I'm sorry" because it was "the right thing to say" without teaching them WHY to apologize. An apology without reflection is not an apology. My psychology teacher in high school was not a fan of apologies--he would call you on it and ask you to also explain what you were going to do to change the behavior that caused you to apologize. I'm stopped apologizing in a lot of day-to-day situations; for example, if I get caught up in traffic and don't make it to work just on time. I don't apologize or make excuses/explanations because I feel that just draws attention to an issue someone else might not even notice. Plus, I don't see why I should apologize for something I can't control. That said, I'm not afraid to say I'm sorry when it's warranted.

How do you feel about saying "I'm sorry"?

2. DamnitAll

DamnitAll Wait... what?

I'm usually the first one to apologize in most situations, and 98% of the time I mean it with full sincerity. I usually feel like I'm the one in the wrong, regardless of what's happening, and I blame my ex-Catholic guilt.

3. GeneticShift